On Tue, 15 May 2018 12:02:13 +0100,
Post by HVS Post by Tony Cooper Post by soup Post by Jerry Friedman Post by soup
"Two shots carry " etc
What does that mean?
If one of the players sink the cue ball the other player gets
two visits to the table.
In some places if they successfully pot a ball on their first
visit then that is considered it, they do not get another go
if on the other hand they just use the first visit to set up
a pot then they get their second shot.
In other places it doesn't matter what happens on the first
visit they still get their second visit, i.e "two shots
"Visits to the table" is not an expression that I've
seen/heard. Context tells me it's the opportunity to take a
turn, but it's not usage I know of.
It makes very little difference in practice, but a "visit" is
made up of one or more shots.
Under current rules, if your opponent makes a foul, you get 2
visits: the first visit is a single, free shot -- you can play
this from where the cue ball has landed, or move it anywhere
behing the baulk line; you can shoot in any direction; you
can hit any ball, including the black; and you can pot any
ball other than the black. If nothing goes down, though, one
ball has to touch a cushion (explained below).
The second visit is a standard turn - you have to hit one of
your own colours, can't hit the black first, etc.
Very interesting. I spent a lot of time playing pool back in the
70s and early 80s, and in that time (or since) never heard the
"Two shots carry" terminology. I also can't recall ever seeing
this particular rule applied or even mentioned. The ability to
"spot" the cue ball wherever one wished (behind the balk line, of
course) was considered enough of an advantage, I guess.
My knowledge of the rules at the time was based strictly on
experience, but it was experience from bars (and from friends and
family) in at least three different U.S. states--so I think the
vagaries of "house rules" mentioned elsethread likely cancelled
each other out for the most part.
Most of the folks I played with had a couple of main variants, one
being "call shot" and the other what we lovingly called "slop."
In the first variant, you had to call the shot you intended to
make before taking it. If you didn't make the shot it was a
fault, and the other player took their turn. In slop, if you sank
one of your own balls, you kept going. Usually in slop, it was
still expected that one call the shot intended for the eight ball.
Post by HVS
On the break, at least two balls other than the cue ball must
pass an imaginary line between the centre pockets. (Introduced
to stop people just tapping the pack -- to discourage them from
playing snooker instead of pool.)
Yes, that one is new to me as well. Most places I played (bars,
pool halls, and homes) had a rule that if the eight ball went in a
pocket on the break, that player won the game. Is anything like
that in the current rules?
Post by HVS
After the cue ball hits one of your colours, you either need to
pot a ball, or have any ball -- any colour, or the black, or
the cue ball -- touch a cushion. (Introduced to stop people
tucking the cue ball up against other balls without moving them
much -- again, to discourage them from playing snooker instead
New to me as well. I can definitely remember using this defensive
strategy (and having it used against me). If one was halfway
decent at bank shots, it wasn't a huge obstacle.
Post by HVS
An exception to the "must touch a cushion" rule is if you're
completely snookered on your colours - in that case, you claim
it as a "total snooker" and don't have to pot a ball or touch a
cushion after you hit one of your balls. (You have to claim the
total snooker, in case it's challenged. If you don't -- and
even if it's patently obvious that it's a total snooker, you
ill-feelings have ensued when this happens....)
It's not a foul if you pot one of your opponent's colours as
well as one of your own. This is called a "skill shot", and
whilst at my level of play it usually applies to a fluke, the
intent is to give players a way to clear an opponent's ball
that's sitting over/blocking a pocket.
The "skill shot" rule also applies to the black: if you're
playing your last colour, and you pot that along with the black
ball, you win. The order in which the balls go down doesn't
matter -- the black can go down first, and your ball second,
and you still win.
(That last rule can be significant: if your last ball is
sitting in front of the black, which in turn is sitting in
front of a pocket, you win if you can hit your ball in such a
way as to put the black down and have your ball follow it into
If your opponent fouls when you're on the black, you get two
shots on the black.
These are all previously unknown to me as well.
Ted Heise <***@panix.com> West Lafayette, IN, USA